The Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum is now open. Click here to for information related to our opening.


The Nürburgring opened in 1927, the same year that Mercedes and Benz joined brands. They, along with many others would find fame on the legendary 18-mile circuit, built to be a showcase for German engineering and driving talent. The photo backdrop shows a swarm of BMW 328s, which were commonly raced as a sign of status by wealthy Germans to compete against each other at the Nürburgring. Since the cars were virtually identical, the winner could claim bragging rights as “the best driver.”

Because of speed and safety concerns, “The Green Hell” was abandoned by Formula One Grand Prix racing in the late 1970s, and then by World Sports car racing in the mid-1980s. However, the 14-mile Nordschleife (northern loop) of the Nürburgring track is still in use today as an open public race course. They also use it as a proving ground for automobile manufacturers to develop their cars.

Exhibit Automobiles

Reopening Information
Please review our new opening policies if you are going to be visiting the Simeone Museum