Important Demo Day Related Announcement!
IHMA 2017 Museum of the Year

Simeone Museum Named 2017 Octane Award Museum of the Year

It is with great honor we announce that they have declared The Simeone Foundation the International Historic Motoring Group’s “Octane Award–Museum of the Year” for 2017.

Hundreds of collectors, racing legends, industry enthusiasts and sports writers were on hand to witness one of the most prestigious nights in the industry, recognizing the elite in the international historic motoring world.

“Recognition by the esteemed judges of these awards is truly the highest honor to which an automotive museum can aspire. We are very proud and appreciative to be so honored especially in the company of other illustrious institutions,” said Fred Simeone, executive director of the Simeone Museum. “Public museums such as ours strive to be relevant to the community, and to provide an experience which blends the history and excitement of motoring. This award is a great boost.””

In making the award, the selection committee noted, “In 2017 the Simeone Museum made room for new attractions including an AC Cars retrospective, but most impressive has been its commitment to inspiring the car enthusiasts of tomorrow. Teachers are invited to make use of the museum’s educational resources, and Demo Days, held twice a month, give visitors the opportunity to see the Museum’s cars in action and learn more about them.”

The judging panel comprised noted figures including:

Derek Bell, Five time Le Mans Winner
Ben Cussons, chairman, London to Brighton Veteran Car Run Steering Group
Robert Coucher, international editor, Octane
Berthold Dőrrich, editor, Octane Germany
Tony Dron, racing driver and motoring writer
James Elliott, editor, Octane
Steve Fowler, editor-in-chief Auto Express and Carbuyer
Stuart Gallagher, editor, evo
L Scott George, vice-president, Revs Institute for Automotive Research; president, CH Motorcars LLC; associate curator, the Collier Collection
Simon Kidston, classic car consultant and concours judge
Dave Kinney, a journalist for Automobile and the New York Times and historic vehicle appraiser
Jay Leno, car collector, comic and TV Host
Corrado Lopresto, architect and collector
Nick Mason, car collector and Pink Floyd Drummer
Jochen Mass, a former racing driver
Bruce Meyer, car collector and founding chairman of the Petersen Automotive Museum
Patrick Peter, organizer of events including Tour Auto and the Le Mans Classic
Murray Smith, car collector and racing driver
Peter Stevens, designer of the McLaren F1
Steve Sutcliffe, former British auto racing driver and evo writer
Glen Waddington, associate editor, Octane
Duncan Wiltshire, chairman, Motor Racing Legends; co-founder, Donington Historic Festival

They announced the results at a black-tie ceremony on Thursday, November 16th at London’s Underglobe on the Southbank of the River Thames emceed by broadcaster and Formula 1 analyst Steve Rider.

The other museums considered for this esteemed award include the Mullin Museum, Petersen Museum, Autoworld Brussels, and the Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum.

Hours and Info

6825 Norwitch Drive
Philadelphia, PA 19153
Tuesday – Friday 10AM through 6PM
Saturday – Sunday 10AM through 4PM
Closed Mondays and Major Holidays

About the Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum

Located in Philadelphia, PA, the Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum is one of the world’s greatest collections of racing sports cars. Through our theme, “The Spirit of Competition”, we celebrate the history and evolution of these magnificent machines.

Assembled over 50 years by Dr. Frederick Simeone, the Museum contains over 75 historically significant cars including Ferrari, Alfa Romeo, Bugatti, Mercedes, Jaguar, Bentley, Porsche, Aston Martin, Corvette, Ford, and more.

Guest Reviews